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Agenda

• Questions from last week

• Test #11 (5 questions)

• Crew of 5 DVD



Questions from last week?



Test #11



Question 1. 

It is third and 8 from A's 45 when A1 throws an incomplete -

forward pass. Erroneously the ball is spotted at the 50, the 

ball marked ready for play, and K1 punts the ball into R's end 

zone. Following the down, the R captain requests a time-out 

so the coach may discuss the misapplication of the rules with 

the referee on the missed spotting of the ball after third 

down.

What is the ruling?



Question 1. 

It is third and 8 from A's 45 when A1 throws an incomplete -
forward pass. Erroneously the ball is spotted at the 50, the 
ball marked ready for play, and K1 punts the ball into R's end 
zone. Following the down, the R captain requests a time-out 
so the coach may discuss the misapplication of the rules with 
the referee on the missed spotting of the ball after third 
down..

What is the ruling?

It is too late to make any correction. The error had to be 
recognized and correction made before the ball was snapped 
on fourth down.



Question 2. 

Following a fourth-down incomplete forward pass late in the fourth 
period, a time-out is properly requested for a coach-referee conference 
regarding possible misapplication of a rule.

(a) The coach of B questions a pass interference call on B1 during a 
second forward pass by A1; or
(b) the coach of A questions why no pass interference by the defense 
was called and why the covering official inappropriately signaled that the 
pass was not catchable.

In either case the referee determines the coach was correct and an 
incorrect ruling and inappropriate signal had been applied.

What is the ruling?



Question 2. 

Following a fourth-down incomplete forward pass late in the fourth period, a time-out is 
properly requested for a coach-referee conference regarding possible misapplication of a 
rule.

(a) The coach of B questions a pass interference call on B1 during a second forward 
pass by A1; or
(b) the coach of A questions why no pass interference by the defense was called and 
why the covering official inappropriately signaled that the pass was not catchable.

In either case the referee determines the coach was correct and an incorrect ruling and 
inappropriate signal had been applied.

What is the ruling?

In (a), the penalty marker is picked up. In (b), a penalty marker may be dropped 
and the pass interference penalized. Misapplication of a rule or an incorrect 
signal may result in picking up a flag or dropping a marker to indicate a foul 
did occur and gives the appropriate signal.



Question 3. 

(a) A1's forward progress is stopped, but he continues to -

attempt to break free despite repeated blasts of the whistle 

by the covering official; or

(b) B1 intercepts, is tackled, and then intentionally runs off 

the field with the ball.

What is the ruling?



Question 3. 

(a) A1's forward progress is stopped, but he continues to -

attempt to break free despite repeated blasts of the whistle 

by the covering official; or

(b) B1 intercepts, is tackled, and then intentionally runs off 

the field with the ball.

What is the ruling?

Delay of game in (a) and unsportsmanlike conduct in 

(b). (9-5-2)



Question 4. 

Substitutes A12 and B12 properly enter the game between 

downs. The replaced player of A remains in the team huddle 

while the replaced B player leaves the field within three 

seconds.

What is the ruling?



Question 4. 

Substitutes A12 and B12 properly enter the game between 

downs. The replaced player of A remains in the team huddle 

while the replaced B player leaves the field within three 

seconds.

What is the ruling?

In this situation, A is charged with a 5-yard penalty 

(dead ball) for an illegal substitution because the 

replaced player of A did not leave within three 

seconds as required.



Question 5. 

Substitute (a) A1, or (b) B1, noticing his team has only 10 -

players on the field, comes onto the field just as the ball is 

about to be snapped. 

What is the ruling?



Question 5. 

Substitute (a) A1, or (b) B1, noticing his team has only 10 players 
on the field, comes onto the field just as the ball is about to be 
snapped. 

What is the ruling?

In (a), A1 must be on the field on A's side of the neutral 
zone, inside the 9-yard marks, and not violate the shift or 
motion provisions. Furthermore, the act of his coming 
onto the field must not deceive the defensive team. In (b), 
the substitution is legal as long as B1 is on the field on 
B's side of the neutral zone prior to the snap. (3-7-6, 7-2-
1, 7-2-6, 7-2-7, 9-6-4)



Crew of 5 DVD



Final Questions?



Upcoming Events

• July – Field Training on Wed nights at Calvary Christian

• August 10th – Field Clinic at East Lake High School


