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Agenda

• Questions from last week

• Test #8 (5 questions)

• Inadvertent Whistle

• Crew of 5 DVD



Questions from last week?



Test #10



Question 1. 

K1 has one knee on the ground to hold for an apparent field-

goal attempt. K2 is in position to kick. K1 catches the snap 

and:

(a) places the ball which is kicked by K2; or

(b) rises and either runs or passes; or

(c) without rising, flips the ball to K2 who attempts to run.

What is the ruling?



Question 1. 
K1 has one knee on the ground to hold for an apparent field-
goal attempt. K2 is in position to kick. K1 catches the snap 
and:

(a) places the ball which is kicked by K2; or
(b) rises and either runs or passes; or
(c) without rising, flips the ball to K2 who attempts to run.

What is the ruling?

Legal in (a) and (b). In (c), the ball becomes dead 
immediately when K1 tosses it to K2 while K1 has his knee 
on the ground. (4-2-2a Exception)



Question 2. 

At the snap, K1 is in position to kick and K2 is in position to hold
for a place kick with one knee on the ground. The snap is high or
bounces once and it is necessary for K2 to lift his knee off the
ground in order to catch or recover the ball. K2 catches the snap
and:

(a) immediately drops to one knee and places the ball for a kick;
or

(b) immediately drops to his knees and then rises and passes the
ball; or
(c) takes several steps and then drops to his knees to place the
ball; or
(d) takes several steps and fumbles the ball which is
subsequently recovered and advanced by K1 or K2.

What is the ruling?



Question 2. 

At the snap, K1 is in position to kick and K2 is in position to hold for a
place kick with one knee on the ground. The snap is high or bounces
once and it is necessary for K2 to lift his knee off the ground in order to
catch or recover the ball. K2 catches the snap and:

(a) immediately drops to one knee and places the ball for a kick; or
(b) immediately drops to his knees and then rises and passes the ball;

or
(c) takes several steps and then drops to his knees to place the ball; or
(d) takes several steps and fumbles the ball which is subsequently
recovered and advanced by K1 or K2.

What is the ruling?

The ball remains live in (a), (b) and (d). In (c), the ball is dead 
when K2's knee touches the ground, because he did not go back 
down immediately after catching or recovering the errant snap. 
In (d), the advance by K1 or K2 is legal. (4-2-2a Exception)



Question 3. 

With fourth and 2 from K’s 38-yard line, a scrimmage kick by 

K1 is muffed beyond the neutral zone by R1 following his 

signal for a fair catch. While the ball is loose following the 

muff, the covering official sounds his whistle inadvertently.

What is the ruling?



Question 3. 

With fourth and 2 from K’s 38-yard line, a scrimmage kick by 

K1 is muffed beyond the neutral zone by R1 following his 

signal for a fair catch. While the ball is loose following the 

muff, the covering official sounds his whistle inadvertently.

What is the ruling?

Because the whistle was inadvertently sounded 

during a kick, the down will be replayed even though 

R1 was first to touch the scrimmage kick beyond the 

neutral zone. The clock will start on the ready-for-play 

signal. (3-4-2c)



Question 4. 

A1 throws a forward pass from his own 40-yard line. B1 

intercepts on his 2-yard line and circles back into his end 

zone. While B1 is in the end zone, the covering official 

inadvertently sounds his whistle. 

What is the ruling?



Question 4. 

A1 throws a forward pass from his own 40-yard line. B1 
intercepts on his 2-yard line and circles back into his end 
zone. While B1 is in the end zone, the covering official 
inadvertently sounds his whistle.

What is the ruling?

Since B1 is in possession, B has the option of 
accepting the results of the play at the time of the 
whistle or asking for a replay of the down. Since the 
result of the play would be a safety, B would normally 
chose to replay the down. (4-2-3c, 8-5-2a)



Question 5. 

A’s ball, third and 8 on A’s 30-yard line. A1’s pass is 

intercepted by B2. Prior to the interception, B1 is flagged for 

defensive pass interference. After the ball is intercepted by 

B2, the covering official blows an inadvertent whistle with B2 

in possession at the B40.

What is the ruling?



Question 5. 

A’s ball, third and 8 on A’s 30-yard line. A1’s pass is intercepted 
by B2. Prior to the interception, B1 is flagged for defensive pass 
interference. After the ball is intercepted by B2, the covering 
official blows an inadvertent whistle with B2 in possession at the 
B40.

What is the ruling?

RULING: If A accepts B’s penalty for pass interference, it 
is A’s ball, first and 10 at A’s 45-yard line as the 
inadvertent whistle aspect is ignored. If A declines B’s 
penalty for pass interference, B will accept the ball at B’s 
40-yard line. (4-2-3c)



“Selling” Your Call!



Crew of 5 DVD



Final Questions?



Upcoming Events

• June 25th – Training Meetings: 6:30pm

• July – Field Training on Wed nights at Calvary Christian


